Your favorite music from the 1830s

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Terrapin Station, Mar 23, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Terrapin Station

Terrapin Station Master Guns Thread Starter

You don't have to post a big list all at once. Just add some favorite tunes/pieces whenever you think of them.

Since we have a lot of audiophiles on the board, feel free to recommend some of your favorite recordings of the music you list.

2. Terrapin Station

Terrapin Station Master Guns Thread Starter

Hector Berlioz - Symphonie Fantastique

3. Crimson Witch

Crimson Witch Roll across the floor thru the hole & out the door

Last edited: Mar 23, 2020
  4. mark winstanley

mark winstanley Certified dinosaur, who likes physical product

Certainly I am no expert in this era, but Chopin seems to be the highlight for me, and my limited knowledge

Piano Concerto No.1

Revolutionary Etude - aside from the technically brilliant playing required, for this track, it also has a remarkable melody and such dramatic flair it just grabs the attention. I also think Muse used this intro as the basis for Space Dementia

Pollini plays Chopin Etude Op.10 No.12 'Revolutionary'

5. illinoisteve

illinoisteve Forum Resident

As for 1830s pop songs, "Turkey in the Straw" has to be right up near the top.

ghoulsurgery likes this.
  6. moomaloo

moomaloo All-round good egg

The 1830s. Right, so just after half past 6PM. - I am currently listening to Revolver. That one is pretty good...

I'll get my coat..!

ThunderDan and Chemguy like this.
  7. illinoisteve

illinoisteve Forum Resident

After reading the thread title, I never thought of classical music, perhaps because I have seldom heard of it being grouped by decade...unless we are talking about rather recent classical music.

ThunderDan likes this.
  8. Interpolantics

Interpolantics Forum Resident

Madonna's golden years

bluesky and majorlance like this.
  9. majorlance

majorlance Forum Resident

Yep.