5.1 surround sound mixes - how are these enjoyable?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Mark Jacobsen, Feb 28, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mark Jacobsen

Mark Jacobsen Well-Known Member Thread Starter

I am new to 5.1 surround mixes and own a couple Yes ones that Steven Wilson did. I've tried a couple times, but man, such a struggle to get into it.
    So many people gush over them in general. So, what am I missing? It is just all so disjointed and some parts sound like they are at the back of a cavern. I am constantly moving around to different speakers to get parts I can't hear, which means the other parts are now not as noticeable. After 10 minutes I have to just turn it off and resume a stereo mix.
    Pretty disappointed. Please help me if you love 5.1 music mixes.

bherbert, VQR, Mickey2 and 7 others like this.
  2. pinkrudy

pinkrudy Senior Member

the idea is to be surrounded by the music. Where some instruments are completetly isolated. So it feels more like you were in the room.
    If you cant hear what is coming from one of the side speakers then the other is too loud.
    Every 5.1 disc is mastered differently imo... You have to adjust how loud each speaker is until you find the right balance.

3. Mark Jacobsen

Mark Jacobsen Well-Known Member Thread Starter

OK, thanks. I'll give that a try. I appreciate the input.

OptimisticGoat likes this.
  4. Sammy Waslow

Sammy Waslow Just watching the show

Some 5.1 mixes are obviously better than others. I've had occasions where I've put a newly acquired one on and been underwhelmed. But I've always found that a little adjustment of the speakers (or on a more basic and obvious level, where you sit) can work wonders. Obviously, none of this should be an ordeal, but if you persevere, you will hopefully discover a few that really work for you.

5. let him run...

let him run... Senior Member

Yeah, I think your system is not quite dialed in yet. It can take awhile.