Am I too curious with Lyngdorf?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by thomaskong, Nov 4, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thomaskong

thomaskong Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hello

Using Accuphase DG28 digital equalizer, I had done room correction for 16 years more than most of people here.

I had been happily using EMMLab Dac2 for 8 years.

It has detailed and dynamic sound with wide and deep soundstage.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]
    I had been using Lansche 4.1 speaker for 11 years which is pretty sensitive(99db/w spec, but real no may be 94db/w) with two actively driven 10 inch driver.

Lansche had sensitive and pristine treble from plasma tweeter which may be good tool for reviewing front end.

I had used 8W Silbatone 300B SET amplifier for 5 years with original Western Electric 300B tube made in 1930's for 6 years.

Then I switched to Rogue Cronus Magnum II which I had been using for 5 years.

Rogue Cronus Magnum II with 100 power can drive my speakers loud enough in my spacious listening space with high vault.

Recently I switched to 48W Line Magnetic 508ia SET amplifier which is one notch above Rogue Cronus Magnum II in every way.
    I had been intrigued by Lyngdorf which combine room correction, Dac and Integrated Amplifier.

But I could not get it for home audition at my home in Washington State.

Thus I bought used Lyngdorf 2170 today which will be delivered by next Friday to me.

At first I will just try out Lyngdorf 2170 as Dac without any room correction to compare with EMMLab Dac2 .

Then I will also try it out as Dac and Integrated Amplifier without using room correction comparing with my present system.

At last I will also try out room correction.

If I get excellent result It can bump out Accuphase DG28 digital equalizer, EMMLab Dac2 and Integrated Amplifier.

But there is possibility that I can switch between Lyngdorf 2170 and Line Magnetic 508ia SET amplifier depending on source of music.