Another silly question.... this time vinyl

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by DaleClark, Jun 27, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DaleClark

DaleClark Forum Resident Thread Starter

Keeping today's desktop size laser printers in mind, is it conceivable to make a high quality LP ( real time transfer) with a blank vinyl disc that could actually play and sound good on a normal TT.

One would have to get the first go around right..no starting over with same disk

Just wondering. I'm no engineer

2. Old Audiophool

Old Audiophool Forum Resident

Ar you talking about 3D printer?

The FRiNgE likes this.
  3. The Pinhead

The Pinhead KING OF BOOM AND SIZZLE IN HELL

Then there'd be no one to blame but yourself if the lp is flawed. Where's the fun in that ?:laugh:

4. The FRiNgE

The FRiNgE Forum Resident

Thinking that's not possible with the current 3D technology, maybe possible in the future. A laser turntable was developed just before CD's hit the market, tracks the groove with a laser. The Library of Congress USA has one.

5. Strat-Mangler

Strat-Mangler Personal Survival Daily Record-Breaker

There are a few. What I've read about people's experiences with them, they sound pretty bad, which is a shame... though they're crazy expensive.

The FRiNgE likes this.
  6. McLover

McLover Senior Member

Yes, if you own a Neumann lathe and cutting electronics, a lacquer mastering suite with superb tape machines and DAW station and mastering console and outboard gear, the skill and know how to drive it, expensive master grade lacquers, and lots of $$$$$ to afford it. Not for ordinary people to do. Not like burning a CD at home or a DVD. Allow say, $300,000 or so entry fee or higher.

7. The FRiNgE

apparently hp does not make anything like that ...... :shrug:

MLutthans and PhilBiker like this.
  8. Dubmart

Dubmart Senior Member