Audio Technica AT150MLX - frequency response charts

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by back2vinyl, Feb 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. back2vinyl

back2vinyl Forum Resident Thread Starter

I’m opening this thread to post some frequency response charts for the Audio Technica AT150MLX. Accuracy is not guaranteed because the charts pick up everything in the entire test chain, from the test record itself, the turntable, the arm, the cabling and the phono stage to the soundcard and the software in the PC. Plus, I’m no expert. So they’re really just for entertainment and discussion.

Equipment is: Dr Feickert Adjust + Pro software and test record; Michell Orbe turntable; SME V arm; original SME interconnect; EAR 324 phono stage and Creative Soundblaster X-Fi Surround 5.1 external USB soundcard (as recommended by Dr Feickert). Measurement is taken from the EAR 324 outputs via the soundcard into a Dell laptop. The cartridge is brand new.

Just before starting I thought I’d post a couple of things from the Japanese leaflet accompanying the AT150MLX. In the official US specification, the frequency response for this cartridge is given as 10-30,000Hz but oddly, the Japanese leaflet gives it as 10-23,000Hz:

You can also see that the suggested loading is 100-200pF at a standard 47K ohms.
    Second, there’s a tiny chart that looks like a frequency response chart - the x-scale is certainly Hz though I can’t make out what the y-scale is. It’s also just possible to see that the test was done at 100pF, which seems very low – my interconnects alone give me 75pF and I reckon the tonearm wiring is good for another 25pF so there’s 100pF before even reaching the phono stage.

AT150-Japanese-chart.jpg

jupiterboy likes this.
  2. back2vinyl