Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Headphones and iPhone/Laptop

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Beet, Apr 24, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Beet

Beet Forum Resident Thread Starter

I am a college student and I listen to music on the go with my iPhone everyday. I also spend a great deal of time listening to music on my laptop. I've used stock Apple earbuds and other cheap earbuds all my life. I actually like the ones I have, but considering how much music I listen to, I've been thinking of upgrading to the Audio-Technica ATH-M50x headphones. Would it be worth it to buy nice headphones for digital music on my phone and laptop? I know people on this forum get a bit arrogant about listening to digital music, so I'd like to hear what people think. Would I be wasting my money, and should I stick with the stock Apple earbuds? Or would it be a good idea to upgrade?

2. BeauZooka

BeauZooka Forum Resident

I have the exact same headphones that I listen to digital files at work and they are a great upgrade. Way better than apple earbuds. I also have a Schiit Fulla dac/amp - if you want to take it a little further.

Billy Infinity and Galley like this.
  3. Halloween Jack

Halloween Jack Forum Resident

It's always a good idea to upgrade; go for it :righton:

Those headphones have a sensitivity of 99dB and an impedance of 38 ohms. They are okay for a portable device?

4. snkcube

snkcube Forum Resident

The ATH-M50x are really good headphones for under $150. If your budget is tight, I'd suggest the Status Audio CB-1s. They're under $100 and provide great sound quality as well.

5. Richard Austen

Richard Austen Forum Resident