Audio Technica LP120 Tracking Force

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by rockdave73, Dec 1, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rockdave73

rockdave73 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

Hi guys,
    I am new to all this so bear with me. Last week I got Audio Technica LP120 and I'm really happy with it.
    I set the tracking force at the recommended minimum of 1.5g at first but I found out the vocal sound improved when I increased to the maximum of 2.5g.
    The only trouble is, I've noticed a couple of skips on albums that didn't usually skip on my cheaper record player.
    I just wondered what tracking force you guys use and if 2.5g is supposed to be the maximum then why does the counterweight have markings for much heavier tracking ?.
    Cheers, Dave.

2. Thorensman

Thorensman Forum Resident

Not familiar with this model if recommended tracking force is 1.5 to 2.5 then generally 2 grammes would be optimum.
    Other parameters
    such as vta/sra come into play.
    Viewing from side with arm in playing position, top of headshell/ arm tube should be parallel to record.
    How are you verifying tracking force?
    A trst record would help

3. rockdave73

I've never done it before but everything looks fine. Thanks for answering. :)

4. JamesD1957

JamesD1957 Forum Resident

I have that turntable. I've set mine at 2.3, and like you, I think it's made a positive difference in sound quality. Make sure the anti-skate is set to match. Another thing, which has "seemed" to get rid of skips, is keeping the dust cover in the "up" position, or completely off when playing records. That will also improve the sound a bit. Hope that helps.

5. rockdave73

Ok thank you for the feedback, I will give that a try. It's a funny thing getting back into vinyl, some old records sound great and some sound very tinny.

6. Lownote30

Lownote30 Bass Clef Addict