BIll Ward: No Grudges Toward The Other Members Of Black Sabbath

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Shvartze Shabbos, Jul 3, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shvartze Shabbos

Shvartze Shabbos Senior Member Thread Starter

2. MikaelaArsenault

MikaelaArsenault Forum Resident

3. jon9091

jon9091 Master Of Reality

That's great Bill. A bit late....but still great.

4. Shvartze Shabbos

hi_watt likes this.
  5. ModernDayWarrior

ModernDayWarrior Senior Member

Let's speculate something here. Let's say Bill and the rest of Sabbath get together, then they can have a real farewell tour. Would fans be mad? ;)

6. Shvartze Shabbos

SinnerSaint and Efus like this.
  7. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

I'm near the end of Mick Wall's book about Black Sabbath, and reading the account of the crack-up between Bill and the band, it just convinces me that they are never, ever gonna get back together again. Wall suggests that it all comes down to the fact that Ozzy was contracted to take such a greater percentage of the loot for the 13 album and tours and Bill just wouldn't stand for it. And according to Wall, it really isn't the money that's the problem but the whole issue of fairness - Bill still sees the band members as peers and was disgusted that the lion's share of everything was going to Ozzy and the other three would have to just split what was left. Wall doesn't go into details of percentages but it seems a very likely scenario to me. I doubt we'll ever truly know the details of the situation but I could definitely see Ozzy and Sharon saying, "We take 60% and you guys get whatever's left", and Tony and Geezer say what the hell but Bill says, "Screw that." Bill has always maintained that it was an issue of principle at stake and not greed on his part that drove his decision and I believe that.

8. jon9091

jon9091 Master Of Reality