Classical music for Dummies....

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Vinyl-Addict, Jul 15, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vinyl-Addict

Vinyl-Addict Groovetracer Manufacturer Thread Starter

OK, so I'm an uneducated newbie to Classical music, I admit it. I really have just shown major interest in it during this past year. The problem is knowing what to buy since there is such a vast library of material to choose from.
    I currently own about 40 Classical LP's(all but 5 are re-issues). That's the format of choice for me so I don't consider any of the digital formats. I need help in choosing albums that suit my taste which seems to lean toward large Orchestral pieces. I really enjoy the dynamic swings of these pieces but I only own a few to date.
    Could someone recommend titles that are no brainers to a newbie like myself. Your help would be much appreciated, my turntable awaits. :)

2. Steve Hoffman

Steve Hoffman Your host Your Host

Go to your used record store and buy everything by the composers that you have heard of, and try some you haven't.

Since you will only be paying $2.50 for each album you can't go wrong. Then, when you hear a guy you like, buy more of his work.

Listen to classical radio and when you hear something you like, write it down and the name of the composer.

Go into your local CD store and in the classical section, find all of the composers who have "GREATEST HITS" discs. Then, back to the used LP store and find stuff by those guys. Try them. If you like, buy more.

Classical LP's (other than RCA Living Stereo's and London Blue Back's) are cheap as hell.

When in doubt as to one conductor over another (and this is just my opinion of course), go with Bernstein, Ormandy, etc. People you have heard of. Then, if you like a certain piece of music enough to hear another interpretation of it, try the same thing with another conductor.

It's fun, and it's cheap!

3. Vinyl-Addict