DIY turntable isolation

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Brian Gupton, May 5, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Brian Gupton

Brian Gupton Forum Resident Thread Starter

I have a VPI Scoutmaster II. I'm looking to add some DIY isolation and was going to try the inner tube/roller block setup found here:

http://www.stereophile.com/content/...o-expensive-high-end-racks-bits-bobs-needed-1

However, I'm not 100% sure the best way to adapt this hack to my specific turntable. I have a separate motor and the motor/table need to be aligned properly. Most of the pics I see for this hack are using components that are flat with short or no feet which makes suspending easy.

If I remove the feet on my TT, I'd have to stack several of the furniture cups to achieve the proper height. Not sure if that would adversely affect the sound or not and/or make the setup unstable.

Any advice on trying this hack with my specific turntable?

2. jupiterboy

jupiterboy Forum Residue

I have to be able to level mine often, so I need functioning leveling feet. Everyone loves the tube method, but it is not for me. I also put my table on spikes for a few years, but it really made mess of the bass. I went back to the stock feet and used Herbies Fat Dots under the three feet, and it was a really good move as the bass really tightened up.

With your situation, I would get a block of wood and try different materials as a second set of feet under the block. That way, you can experiment and see what works the best.

Almost forgot, probably can’t go wrong with a shelf it that works for your space.

Last edited: May 5, 2014
    Sailfree and Brian Gupton like this.
  3. ElizabethH

ElizabethH Forum Resident

I go for mass loading. So the shelving I use is filled with sand. Then under the TT I have concrete patio bricks, then chemical rubber bottle stoppers size ten. Then a thick teak floating shelf, then the TT: Kuzma Stabi/Stogi S