Does Anyone Still Use Adobe Audition?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by mne563, Oct 10, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mne563

mne563 Senior Member Thread Starter

I love Adobe Audition. I have version 3.0 and I've been a fan since it was known as Cool Edit. Although I'm far from a pro at it, I am very comfortable with it and it works for me. But...

Does Anyone Still Use Adobe Audition? The reason I ask is, my son is away at college, studying (I hope) music production and engineering, and he says "nobody uses that anymore." Is this right? I know Pro Tools is big, but is Audition yesterday's news?

2. BradOlson

BradOlson Country/Christian Music Maven

There are people who still use Adobe Audition to this very day including many pros in the industry. It is still being made by Adobe to this very day.

3. NickM

NickM New Member

Yep, I still use it. Been using it since Cool Edit Pro also. I have v2.0 but it works great for me. It seems to be still very big among amateur home recorders at least.

4. McLover

McLover Senior Member

The vast majority of broadcasters use either Adobe Audition of some version or Cool Edit Pro. It's still the radio standard and will likely be for years yet. Pro Tools HD is the digital standard in recording studios.

5. JBStephens

JBStephens I don't "like", "share", "tweet", or CARE. In Memoriam

Still? I imagine I'll still be using it years from now. It's fine for "little" guys like me, and there is isn't as much of a learning curve as there is with Pro Tools. That's why broadcasters like it too. But for "big studio" stuff, then one does need to learn Pro Tools. No way around it.

6. Dillydipper

Dillydipper Space-Age luddite

"Still use it"...? It's my videogame of choice! :righton:

7. TopForty

TopForty Active Member