Harsh sibilance on new Technics (Depeche mode some great reward)

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by 33andathird, Aug 7, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 33andathird

33andathird keep em spinning Thread Starter

Hi all. This is my first post on this forum and I suspect as I'm relatively new to this hobby it won't be my last!
    I'm experiencing harsh enough sibilance with my new Technics sl1500c/Cambridge Duo phono pre. cartridge is an ortofon 2m red.
    It's classic end of groove (mostly) sibilance: Harsh distorted 's' and 't' sounds and an annoying rasping noise on high,loud passages.

This is very noticeable on Depeche Mode's 1984 album Some Great Reward if any are familiar- the song Blasphemous Rumours is slightly annoying to listen to as it's at the end of side 2. Especially with headphones (sony wh1000mx3).

My cart is aligned with Stevenson (overhang gauge coming soon in post), but I never trust my alignments. VTF at 2g, the max for this cart. Antiskate to match.
    Is there any fix for this or do other listeners to this album experience the same distortion?
    Don't know why they always put singles at the end of sides lol.

Please don't recommend a crazy priced cartridge or anything, I've nothing in the bank account after getting the table and headphones haha!

By the way, why am I unable to add tags, it's telling me I'm not allowed?!

JeffMo likes this.
  2. eltigreferoz

eltigreferoz Forum Resident

I would check your tonearm settings first: vta, tracking, and anti-skate. Did you set up the cartridge yourself, using the alignment tool? If not, I would make that step one.

It could also be that your cartridge just needs some burn-in. Typically takes 60-100 hours.

Lastly, the DMs could just be not great pressings. Or they’re dirty (sometimes they come a little dirty from the plant). Try cleaning the record.

3. patient_ot

patient_ot Senior Member