Integrated tube amp questions

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Togo, Mar 25, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Togo

Togo Same as it ever was Thread Starter

Hello all,

What sort of used price would you say is fair for a good quality integrated tube amp for a budget system ($1,000-$1500)?

Any particular brands you'd recommend?

Just interested for future reference.

2. Paul L.

Paul L. New Member

Hi Togo,
    Do you want to go vintage or with a new piece just slightly used? How much power do you need?

3. Togo

Hi Paul,

I'm a novice when it comes to tube amps...so any suggestions welcome for power or vintage options.

I currently have an Arcam Alpha 3 integrated amp (40 watts per channel) and Linn Index speakers. These support a Pioneer DV626 (CD/DVD player) total cost around $1,400 for the 3 components.

I'm thinking about future upgrades (I'd have to save some money first!)...I could go down the tube amp route or opt to improve by other means.

4. Sckott

Sckott Hand Tighten Only.

Get a used Adcom (yeah!) or Rotel pre, so you can handle all your equipment madness (like DVD, CD, etc) especially if it's lots of stuff.

Then, choose your tuby Amp weapon. You could go with Paramours by Bottlehead (if you have fairly efficiant speakers) a Dynaco ST-70 or a Mk III, if and when you can find em cheep. Lots of older amps that do well. You can do well for under $1500, but you realize you might be going after the more popular older amps.

Depends. What do you have for speakers? How large is your listening area? What music do you usually listen to?

5. Togo

Thanks ScKott - advice gratefully received...

My Linn Index II speakers are on good quality stands and handle most types of music well...which is good because I have a very broad range of tastes.