Is Aerosmith a singles band?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by JohnnyQuest, Oct 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JohnnyQuest

JohnnyQuest Forum Resident Thread Starter

I'm going to go over their whole discography but before I do I need to know..
    Should I purchase a greatest hits or should I should I start with their albums?
    I wouldn't want to waste time if most of their albums contain filler songs with two to three stand out hits.
    If they are a singles band then what is the best compilation to purchase?
    If they're an albums band what should should I start with? Which album marks the beginning of the end?

2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Don't bother with greatest hits comps, start with Get Your Wings and proceed through Rocks. If you like those, get the rest of the 70's albums. Can't answer for it after that. However these albums:

Get Your Wings
    Toys In The Attic
    Rocks
    - are 100% classic and deserve to be in anyone's collection, assuming one is interested in that era of rock.

Beginning of the end is Draw The Line. It's still a great album though. The first album is great also but is somewhat less sophisticated than subsequent releases.

johnaltman, ShawnX, pscreed and 6 others like this.
  3. cublowell

cublowell Forum Resident

Cue 5 pages of posts telling you to avoid everything post-70s!

(Get the original red-covered Greatest Hits and Big Ones, and go from there)

Funky54, DiabloG, mattdm11 and 2 others like this.
  4. Coricama

Coricama Classic Rocker

Everything up through Draw the Line is certainly worth having. If you've never heard those start to finish, you're in for a treat!:righton:

CybrKhatru, ShawnX and dkmonroe like this.
  5. dkmonroe

Post 70's, it's probably safer to go with a comp! Assuming one isn't put off by the very commercial hits.

6. Pennywise

Pennywise Forum Resident

There's nothing wrong with the first album, either. :)

7. JohnnyQuest