It takes zero effort to properly handle a record

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Samson7, Jul 17, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Samson7

Samson7 Forum Resident Thread Starter

I've been handling records for 34 years and they just don't get scratched, except the one time I let one slip while flipping it over while being a little drunk. It's not like you have to be ocd or take extra time. It almost seems harder to mishandle them.

I was at a friend's house recently and he was playing Revolver. It sounded like gravel. I thought it must have been an old, beat up copy. Nope, a 2012 reissue. I would have to put some serious effort into making a brand new record sound that bad in 5 years time.

Anybody else perplexed by people mishandling records?

Apparently Hendrix was really bad about taking care of records, which is why I don't listen to him anymore.

2. Daily Nightly

Daily Nightly Well-Known Member

about to drop a butt onto his 401...[​IMG]

3. McLover

McLover Senior Member

Why is it that spastic me can handle records and manual tonearms sans cueing without worry even drunk, and many of you have issues? My spasticity is from Cerebral Palsy and spinal issues. I am curious. Yes, once proper record handling is learned, and often practiced, it is automatic. I've handled manual tonearms professionally for over 43 years as a matter of course.

4. Raunchnroll

Raunchnroll Senior Member

I get a kick out of seeing MFSL or MOFI audiophile records that are trashed. Beat. Go figure.

5. Combination

Combination Forum Resident

You baws should have discussed a little pressing plant called Rainbo, that's all I have to say!

6. GentleSenator

GentleSenator what if

:laugh:

Ninja Bomber likes this.
  7. Pinknik

Pinknik Senior Member

Lots of folks can't take care of optical media any better. Perhaps worse if they also do time in a car. My 1987 discs look like my 2017 discs.

audiomixer, c-eling, McLover and 2 others like this.