Jerry Garcia and his guitar 'sound'

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by noname74, Nov 24, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. noname74

noname74 Allegedly Canadian Thread Starter

I have been listening to a lot of solo Jerry and Dead lately and no matter what era or which guitar he's using there is a 'sound' coming from his guitar that makes him like no other.

I'll try to explain what I mean...I'm not a musician so I am sure there are much better ways to explain it...it's almost as if he's playing more notes than most other guitarists so there's almost always a different sound coming out at all times...whereas others seem to hold the notes longer. His guitar 'pitch' also often seems higher than others...

I am sure musicians are rolling their eyes at my explanation so if anyone can chime in and explain why and how he gets that recognizable sound I'd appreciate it. Keep it simple though....me no understand complex musician-speak. :)

2. drumzNspace

drumzNspace Forum Resident

it's the kind of guitars he use

3. Rne

Rne weltschmerz

I'm afraid there's no explanation. Many legendary musicians had that ability of getting a particular and unique sound from their instruments no matter which equipment set up they were using. Jerry had a unique timbre he got from his fingers, and, if you allow me to provide some temptative metaphysical explanation, from his soul.

4. driverdrummer

driverdrummer Forum Resident

It sounds "Fluid" and "Rubbery".

5. davmar77

davmar77 I'd rather be drummin'...

sounds about right. I'd say after he gave up les pauls in the late 60's, for the most part, his sound was pretty consistent on almost every guitar he played. in the early days his sound was heavier. listen to any live shows from 67-68.

Cassius and Bolero like this.
  6. Rne

Rne weltschmerz