Jethro Tull Aqualung - best audiophile vinyl version overall?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by GuyMontag21, Dec 13, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GuyMontag21

GuyMontag21 Forum Resident Thread Starter

been lurking on here for months - finally got back into vinyl this summer. glad to meet all of you.

this album has been a thorn in my side for years as a budding audiophile, and I've grown up hearing it over and over. Dad's vinyl copy sounded bad, my first used 1980s CD copy sounded bad, and the (I think?) late 1990s remaster I later borrowed from a friend sounded bad too. (There was some hiss removed. Whatever. And it wasn't like I was going to buy the gold DCC version when I was a high school student.)

Steve Wilson's remix changed all of this. And I have to dedicate an entire paragraph to how overjoyed was to hear the remix. I had no clue there were strings on Cheap Day Return, and my jaw hit the ground the first time I heard the detail in Martin Barre's guitar on Mother Goose. And there is almost NO HISS at the beginning of Locomotive Breath.

I'm unlikely to want the entire boxed set, as I don't really like CDs that much. As it seems that it's very hard to get the Steve Wilson remix on vinyl by itself (I'll have to check eBay every day) I've looked into the other good versions I've seen praised on here. So far, I've compiled a list of what to look for. Let me know if I have anything missing.

Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab
    DCC
    Classic Records
    Classic Records (4 LP and 45 RPM. Heard *nothing* about this.)
    Steve Wilson remix

Thanks much guys

2. DK Pete

DK Pete Forum Resident