McIntosh MA7900

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Clanceman, Oct 27, 2013.

  1. Slick Willie

    Slick Willie Decisively Indecisive

    Location:
    Sweet VA.
    I just don't understand why they put the thing in there....gotta' keep up with the times I suppose.
    At this level, most will use outboard DAC's ......even phono pre's for that matter.
     
    SpeakerLabFan likes this.
  2. coopmv

    coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

    Location:
    CT, USA
    Absolutely :agree:.

    There is no point to pay a lot more than the new DAC. Outboard DAC is the way to go ...
     
    McLover, John Woo and Slick Willie like this.
  3. Coricama

    Coricama Forum Resident

    Location:
    Marietta, GA
    The amp is hooked up and I'm using the Krell integrated as a preamp until C2300 gets here Tuesday. Biggest thing I've noticed is better bass at lower volume levels. I unpacked and loaded the MC402 into my rack by myself. I was sweating pretty good by the time I was done. What a beast!
     
    McLover and ssmith3046 like this.
  4. coopmv

    coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

    Location:
    CT, USA
    Just out of curiosity, how did you manage to buy your Mac's via mail order? My understanding is Mac limits online purchases to certain models only ...
     
  5. Coricama

    Coricama Forum Resident

    Location:
    Marietta, GA
    Both units are used, bought on Audiogon.
     
  6. Blackie

    Blackie Forum Resident

    Location:
    Los Angeles
    The MA8900, with new DAC, is only $500 more than the MA7900.
     
  7. Clanceman

    Clanceman Forum Resident Thread Starter

    Location:
    Portland, Or
    I love my MA7900.....more than anything ya see in my profile.
     
  8. coopmv

    coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

    Location:
    CT, USA
    I would have gone for it if it had had two tape loops ...
     
    Clanceman likes this.
  9. Slick Willie

    Slick Willie Decisively Indecisive

    Location:
    Sweet VA.
    I hear ya'!!! Same here with my all analogue MA6600!
     
    Clanceman likes this.
  10. Coricama

    Coricama Forum Resident

    Location:
    Marietta, GA
    I got the C2300 preamplifier today. All hooked up and sounding fantastic! I have a little ground loop hum coming in on the MC input to ferret out. Moving it around increases and decreases the hum. I'll work on it more tomorrow. Tickled to death!
     
    BlackCircle and Clanceman like this.
  11. coopmv

    coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

    Location:
    CT, USA
    Still enjoying your Mac's? Have you vanquished that ground loop hum?
     
    Coricama likes this.
  12. Coricama

    Coricama Forum Resident

    Location:
    Marietta, GA
    I had the C2300 for 1 day and it's been in the shop ever since. Turns out that McIntosh put out a service bulletin about the problem I was having with the MC phono pre. It needs 2 capacitors replaced. :realmad:
     
  13. coopmv

    coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

    Location:
    CT, USA
    So the service should have no out of your pocket cost for you other than shipping?
     
  14. Coricama

    Coricama Forum Resident

    Location:
    Marietta, GA
    The original warranty is long over and I am the second owner so it's all on me. I have a guy here in town doing it for me.
     
  15. coopmv

    coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

    Location:
    CT, USA
    I don't believe Mac's warranty is transferable. Among the high-end audio, Bryston has the best warranty on its amplifier/preamp - twenty year transferable warranty ...
     
  16. teag

    teag Forum Resident

    Location:
    Arizona
    That is really good. Does Bryston have the same warranty on SACD/CD players?
     
  17. coopmv

    coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

    Location:
    CT, USA
    Probably not for obvious reasons ...

    BTW, Odyssey Audio has 10-year warranty on its amps ...
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2017
  18. Coricama

    Coricama Forum Resident

    Location:
    Marietta, GA
    Well, I got the C2300 back from having the service completed that McIntosh update required. It was still making the same noise on the MC phonostage. When I first got it, I thought about switching the tubes from MM phonostage into the MC and see if it was nothing more than a bad tube. After waiting a month to get it back, I wasn't in the mood to wait another month! I unplugged it, pulled the cover, swapped the tubes and it's dead quiet! Sounds great! I wish I had had the balls to do it a month ago. :cheers:
     
  19. Clay B

    Clay B Well-Known Member

    Glad it worked out. The C2300 is first rate. Enjoy
     
    Coricama likes this.
  20. coopmv

    coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

    Location:
    CT, USA
    Does the C2300 have any tape loop(s)?
     
  21. Coricama

    Coricama Forum Resident

    Location:
    Marietta, GA
    Not sure, why?
     
  22. coopmv

    coopmv Newton 1/30/2001 - 8/31/2011

    Location:
    CT, USA
    I have no interests in any preamp that does not have at least one tape loop. Onboard DAC means nothing to me since I can always get an outboard DAC. I still listen to my tapes and so having at least one tape loop is important ...
     
  23. teag

    teag Forum Resident

    Location:
    Arizona
    Check the manual online.
     
  24. Standingstones

    Standingstones Well-Known Member

    Location:
    South Central PA
    You may want to look towards a vintage preamp as most modern preamps do not have a tape loop.
     
  25. Coricama

    Coricama Forum Resident

    Location:
    Marietta, GA
    I agree, that's why I got the last tube pre that McIntosh made without an onboard DAC. No tape loop.
     

Share This Page