Need advice on Marantz 2215b and AR9ls

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Bill von linsowe, Sep 13, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bill von linsowe

Bill von linsowe Active Member Thread Starter

Hello all, newbie here. I recently picked up a great set of AR9LS speakers. I got them re coned and re foamed. Also, found a pristine Marantz 2215b receiver and Marantz 6100 turntable. Do you recommend a power amp for the speakers? I do not want to ruin anything by being underpowered. I am new to all this, please be kind! Looking forward to hearing suggestions and learning how to use this vintage equipment. Thanks in advance!

2. Daily Nightly

Daily Nightly Well-Known Member

The 15wpc Marantz would turn into a firecracker REAL fast attempting to power them...or, for that matter, trying to power any vintage A.R. speakers(!).
    They need at *least* 200wpc to sound unstrained and not wind up having a burnt amp (in the process).
    The most common route to go for pairing with A.R., is: a late-'80s/early-'90s ADCOM GFA-555 power amp (ADCOM seems to have great "synergy" with classic A.R.'s)...but, also, an older SOUNDCRAFTSMEN MA-5002 would be just as good.
    I just mention these two because they can be had in the under-$300 (used) price (collectors ignore them because the names aren't "sexy" enough; however, the sound -and build- was BETTER than most mainstream Japan componentry of that time).
    You *can't* blow-out an A.R. speaker -from then- feeding them too MUCH power. They love high powered transistors.

3. Billion$Baby

Billion$Baby Forum Resident

Ive used Marantz 2325 and Pioneer SX-1250 with vintage AR Speakers with good results. You really need to buy a Receiver with more balls. Your pretty much at the bottom of the barrel of the entire Marantz line at the time.

signothetimes53 likes this.
  4. StimpyWan

StimpyWan Forum Resident