Noobe Upgrading Turntable Opinions Please

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Troy T., Aug 22, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Troy T.

Troy T. Well-Known Member Thread Starter

Hello,

New guy here looking for some help please. I just started to get back into vinyl and slowly building up my collection. I am thoroughly enjoying it! When I was young, I used to have a great system and all the great records to boot. I've been away from it for a very long time. I'm also a musician so I have a pretty keen ear. As I was doing some research, I came across this wonderful, knowledgeable, informative forum about certain pressings, etc. The info is absolutely amazing! I have a very entry level turntable. An AT-LP60XBT. I have a new Sony receiver that has blue tooth and that comes in handy. RCA plugs. My main focus is the turntable right now. If you had the choice, what would you go for out of some of these options? Thanks in advance.

Thorens TD-290 Turntable, 2 speed, Belt drive, Auto end of record shut off with Grado Green cartridge.
    (Made for Thorens by Pro-Ject in Czech Republic)
    Mission 775 with 773 arm and Mission cartridge
    Akai AP-306
    Linn Axis
    Yamaha PX-3 Linear tracking 2 speed turntable with Shure V15-V MM Cartridge
    Akai AP-306 Auto-Return Turntable with Stanton 681EEE Cartridge (without brush)
    Dual - not sure which model yet.
    B&O - not sure which model yet.

2. Troy T.

Also:
    Mission 775 S Turntable/MISSION 773 MM cartridge
    Linn Axis with AKITO tonearm.
    Audio Technica 440ML cartridge with a NEW AT120E (Nude Elliptical stylus)

Thanks! :)

3. Davey

Davey NP: Broadcast ~ The Noise Made by People (2000 LP)

Why those tables? Are they available locally? What kind of selection criteria are you using? What does your keen musician's ear tell you is lacking in your current table, and cartridge, and phono preamp, and ...?

4. Troy T.