POLL: Which Chuck Berry Album Should I Get?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Mike Bass, Dec 2, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mike Bass

Mike Bass Forum Resident Thread Starter

I'm interested in getting a career-spanning album for Chuck Berry's work.
    I've narrowed it down to The Anthology and The Definitive Collection.

How do they compare in sound quality? Booklet information?
    I realize The Definitive Collection has the best of the best from Anthology. Are Anthology's additional tracks worth having?

[​IMG] [​IMG]

melstapler and JohnnyQuest like this.
  2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

3. michael landes

michael landes Forum Resident

All a matter of taste of course. With access to it all, you could easily select your own personal
    top ten, top twenty, and so forth. But here's the overview of what to expect:
    There is a big drop off in quality after about 3 dozen tracks. For you it might occur at 24 tracks or it might occur at 48. For me the big drop off it at 40 tracks. So when I make comps of Chuck it's always a matter of getting the best sounding version of those 40 tracks. Every one of them is on Anthology, but this is not the best sounding version of the tracks. My personal recommendation is to get the old Chess Box (about 75 tracks on three cds, as it sounds real good and you can get it really cheap.) Then compile your own personal best of and run it to cd-r. You'll be glad you did even if you end up deciding that your personal list is only two dozen tracks.
    NOTE: One (but only one) of my own personal top 40 (probably in my top 24) is not in the Chess box. But considering the good sound I think this is the best option - and you can always stick that cut on from Anthology if you want it, as I have.

Last edited: Dec 2, 2015
    Monosterio likes this.
  4. Adam9

Adam9 Русский военный корабль, иди на хуй.

ReadySteady, JimC and Monosterio like this.
  5. PacificOceanBlue