Question: how many plays before vinyl audibly degrades?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Vinyl_Blues, Feb 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Vinyl_Blues

Vinyl_Blues Slave to the Groove Thread Starter

Ok, so while I am a veteran music lover, I am brand new to vinyl (and lovin' it!!) and have a querstion. I know running the needle through the grooves wears them down a bit each time. But how much life does it have before you can hear a substantial deterioration in sound? 20 plays? 100 plays?

I ask this because I've bought a few $100 plus records already and will definitely be playing them. But how long before they start to noticeably lose their audio luster?

Thanks for the info!

By the way, this question assumes we're starting with a brand new record.

2. quadjoe

quadjoe Senior Member

Welcome to the forum!

How long it takes for vinyl to audibly degrade, depends on a lot of factors such as what kind of turntable you're using, tonearm adjustment, tracking force, record care, and a host of other variables. It would be helpful to the others here if you filled out your equipment profile, see this thread:

http://www.stevehoffman.tv/forums/showthread.php?t=140713

That said, I can tell you that with proper care, and a decent turntable you can expect decades of quality sound from your vinyl.

Heckto35 likes this.
  3. Another Side

Another Side Senior Member

Well that depends greatly on your turntable and stylus. But even with a modest system, you shouldn't hear much degradation as you play your LP's. Your stylus will wear out long before the LP does.

Heckto35 likes this.
  4. Vinyl_Blues

Vinyl_Blues Slave to the Groove Thread Starter

Done! My equipment info is now posted on my profile. Thanks for the heads up on that! Granted, the turntable and cartridge I have now (Rega P3-24 w/ Elys 2) will be inferior to what I have five years from now - or maybe even five months from now ;)

5. THD

THD Forum Resident