Question regarding fan age of rock icons

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Koabac, Jun 2, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Koabac

Koabac Self-Titled Thread Starter

Okay, so I'm a writer on a television series aimed at younger audiences and I recently proposed an episode where the characters, who are all about 18 years old, are going to a charity rock show to help save an old theater in a small town that had given the first break to a HUGE rock icon back in the day. We are going to make up a pretend rock star, but I pitched it as being like a Dylan or The Rolling Stones or Beatles - someone THAT big and famous and iconic. Anyway, this pretend rock icon decided he would play the event, himself, to pay back the favor to the theater for giving him his start and I have the characters very excited that the rock star will be playing the show. Now, my fellow creative team claimed that no 18 year old would be excited if a Dylan, Stones or Beatles played a show. That 18 year olds don't know who people like that are and wouldn't be excited to see them - that they are just "old men" to them. I'm a HUGE music head, so, of course, I knew who those guys were when I was 18 - even when I was 8, but I thought this was outlandish even for people who aren't as into music as I am. Am I wrong? Do 18 year olds NOT know or care who Bob Dylan, The Rolling Stones or The Beatles are? Would they REALLY not be excited if one of those guys were playing a small, local theater for a charity they were going to? I lost the battle already, but it still bugs me. Maybe I am wrong, but it's really strange if that's the case.

2. Sax-son

Sax-son Forum Resident

Lemmy, Ozzie, or Neil Young.

3. goodboyfred

goodboyfred Forum Resident

Most 18 year olds don't have a clue about the importance of a Bob Dylan or Rolling Stones. They have their own bands that are current to their musical tastes. Likewise I'm totally clueless on what an 18 year old would find hip.