Reel to Reel vs. Needle Drops-What's the Better Recording Option?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Good Vibes, Feb 22, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Good Vibes

Good Vibes Forum Resident Thread Starter

I have a pretty decent collection of original pressings of Blue Note, Riverside, Contemporary and Columbia jazz lp's. I am entertaining what would be the best sounding option for recording these onto another source for playback. Would it make more sense to invest money in recording these onto reel to reel tapes or would I be best served by making needle drops of these albums? I have no experience with either option. I do own a Studer A807 2 track machine that is capable of 15 ips recordings. I currently only use it for playback of Tape Project reels and 2 track options from the 50's and 60's. If I choose this route, I would need to invest in tapes and make sure the machine is properly calibrated and aligned for recording purposes. On the digital side, I have a 2010 Mac Mini in my system, but I would need to invest in an ADC unit and any additional software needed for this purpose. I would love to get any advice or experience you folks might have on this subject. FYI... the rest of my system includes a modded Lenco L-75 , a Luxman SQ-38U integrated amp, Wavelength Cosecant 24/96 DAC, a Zesto Andros phonostage and LaHave Mela Speakers. Thanks in advance for your input!

2. Pinknik

Pinknik Senior Member

I like reel to reel as a romantic notion. Cost to performance, ease of use and ease of storage all say digital.

3. Good Vibes

Good Vibes Forum Resident Thread Starter

All great points... I must say, that the playback on my Studer can be absolutely breathtaking! That's the only reason I was even considering reel to reel for recording purposes. I wish I were more handy when it comes to tinkering with and calibrating equipment.

4. Pinknik

Pinknik Senior Member