Should I upgrade to VPI Classic 4 or Classic 3?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by j3brow, Mar 2, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. j3brow

j3brow Forum Resident Thread Starter

I will be upgrading my turntable in very near future. Currently , I have a VPI Scoutmaster 10.5i arm with Classic Aluminum platter, ring clamp, center weight, and SDS. Benz LP-S cart. I have been with current table since Feb 2007. I cannot audition these tables locally. I'm set on sticking with VPI and moving up the line. My Scoutmaster will traded in toward the new Classic.

With trade in, I'm looking at about 7k for C4 and 3.5K for C3. Leaning towards C4 for larger plinth to further suppress motor vibration and the benefit of the 12 inch arm. I will only need 1 tonearm. Don't like look of both arms installed. It will be a 3D arm. C3 for 2015 is now called Classic Signature and comes with the 3D as standard.

The C4 will just barely fit on top shelf of my rack but will require removal of VPIs.feet and placement of stillpoints ultra SS feet. My system components are on Stillpoints already.

Read Roy Gregory's review of C4. He felt it was worthwhile better than C3. He also mentions using stillpoints SS to replace VPI feet

I see tommytunes likes his new C4.

Any thoughts? What would you do? Is C3 all one REALLY needs???????? Is C4 guilding the lily??? c3 will fit perfectly on top rack.

2. Don Parkhurst

Don Parkhurst Forum Resident

What would I do? Well....... I just traded in my Classic 1 for a Classic 3 and I was very impressed with the improvement! HW says that he feels the best table that they make now is the Classic 3 with the 3D arm, or Classic Signature if you use the 2015 name for that setup.

I looked into the cost of the C4, but it isn't worth it (for me) unless you have a second arm. It is a large step up in price and according to my dealer, he didn't feel it improved enough to justify the price difference. He feels they are almost equal.