Simple MC Cartridge SUT Question

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by avanti1960, Feb 19, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. avanti1960

avanti1960 Forum Resident Thread Starter

For those who have experienced active LOMC gain and active with a step up transformer-
    Does a SUT provide cleaner gain that may allow for slightly more gain than a fully active phono preamp?

2. avanti1960

avanti1960 Forum Resident Thread Starter

maybe not o simple :?

Can gain from a SUT be cleaner than an all active phono stage that would allow you to apply slightly more gain without distortion or ill effects?

I know adding a SUT may involve compromises- e.g. impedance matching / non-linear frequency response, etc. but in terms of gain, is a SUT cleaner - seems like it should be?

3. Don Parkhurst

Don Parkhurst Forum Resident

I have been using a SUT for the last five years or so. Once it is matched well to the cartridge, it is hard to ever go back to an active phono stage. I started with a really old Ortofon SUT that I used for a short while and then upgraded to an Audio Note AN-S2/H SUT. I was so impressed with the improvements that I was getting that I saved up for quite a while and bought the AN-S8/L SUT. Audio Note only makes one model above the S8 and it is well above my pay grade, so I am happily staying with my AN-S8/L for years to come.