So, erm... tell me about Hip-Hop (maybe)

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by autumn daze, Aug 24, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. autumn daze

autumn daze I really don't belong here Thread Starter

In the 90s I had no interest whatsoever in Hip-Hop. Same could be said for much of this century, but for whatever reason over the last few years, I've found myself enjoying certain tracks that I had heard many years ago. Absolutely, could simply be down to nostalgia or something of a similar nature, but I genuinely seem to have found a certain kind of affection for the music I am hearing.

I know very little in the way of the music, but have seen, and enjoyed, Straight Outta Compton and remember big tracks from the early to mid 90s. Much of what I'm liking now might not even be classed as Hip Hop - as you can tell, I'm new to this. So, what I'm after is some guidance - a where-to-start point, and some suggestions on what next.

I think there are two main reasons I'm growing to like the music; the familiarity of some of the samples used (hearing a lot of 70s soul for example) and the storytelling in the lyrics being more understandable to me now (couldn't tell you why). I'll give you a couple of examples of tracks that I've enjoyed and hopefully that should enable people with far greater knowledge than me the ability to pinpoint the where next....

Tupac - California Love, Changes
    Ice Cube - Today Was A Good Day
    Warren G - Regulate

They are the main tracks I remember from my teens so ideally I'm looking for anything with similar traits to these tracks if anyone is able to help me out! For example, in the SOC movie Dr Dre is seen playing a lot of soul music and uses that as a base for his records, but where do I start?

I appreciate Hip Hop isn't for everyone, and it hasn't been for me before, but I'd like to try it out further to see if there's more that I like.

Thanks!

elgoodo, gslasor and Bemagnus like this.
  2. johnaltman