Sonos and Vinyl a good idea? Please help...

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Maggie Stone, Mar 24, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Maggie Stone

Maggie Stone New Member Thread Starter

I am just getting back into vinyl and have recently purchased a Pro-Ject Debut Carbon DC turntable and Pro-Ject Phono Box MM pre-amp. I already have the following Sonos products: 1-Playbar, 4x Play:1, 1-Play:3 and a Sonos SUB woofer.

I am reading on other blogs that the vinyl sound is much better with stand alone speakers. I am new to all of this and would appreciate opinions, does anyone else agree that hooking a decent turntable to sonos system will result in much lower sound quality?

If I add TT to my Sonos system the thought is I could hook up the turntable to my TV and play it through my soundbar all over apt, BUT will I loose significant sound quality? Or should I just get a set of stand alone speakers to strictly play vinyl? If I do that, do I need a receiver also, any suggestions on equipment would be great.

My goal is to have the best listening experience. I appreciate any and all advice.
    Thank you for your time!

2. Drotz1

Drotz1 Forum Resident

yes you will. Is there a sonos device that will take RCA inputs? if so maybe a TT + phone preamp -> sonos?

3. Maggie Stone

Maggie Stone New Member Thread Starter

Thank you for your response gibby299.
    Sonos has 2 options to connect RCA inputs:
    CONNECT — Streaming Music Stereo Upgrade | Sonos
    CONNECT:AMP - Wireless Stereo Amplifier | Sonos

The above thought was to save $400-500 and just do TT + Phono preamp +TV which plays on my Sonos playbar to have it connected to the Sonos system I have.
    But what I understand from your comment above I will lose significant sound quality, which I do not want.

Would you suggest just having TT + phono preamp + stand alone speakers just for vinyl use?

4. Drotz1

Drotz1 Forum Resident