Sound very low on headphones [Rega P3 > Bellari VP129 > Sennheiser HD 439]

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by snafu714, Oct 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. snafu714

snafu714 New Member Thread Starter

Hi all,

First time post, long time lurker.

I've been collecting vinyl for the last 11 years, and last week, I finally got around to purchasing something to play it on. Got everything on eBay, with the exception of the Sennheisers, which I've had for over a year.

Got everything all setup, took way too long selecting which album would be the lucky first, (SPOILER ALERT: it was SPOON 'GA GA GA GA GA') put the headphones on annnd....it's low. I turn it all the way up to MAX, and it's still pretty low. Sounds great! But low.

So, on a whim, I grabbed my apple earbuds, plugged em in the back of the Bellari, and BOOM! it's loud. I guess I need to order new phones? Why would the Sennheisers not go as loud as the earbuds? I hear great things about the AKG 240 MK II phones...will they be loud enough?

And thanks to all of you for all the awesome information you guys have doled out over the years.

Right now, it's just the tt and phones. I look forward to slowly building a simple yet respectable system.

2. Ham Sandwich

Ham Sandwich Senior Member

The HD 439 is efficient (112dB @ 1kHz/1Vrms) and 32 ohm. They should be able to get loud from most any source.

One possibility is that the 1/8" to 1/4" adapter you are using on the Senns is not working properly and has a poor connection. Is it the type of adapter that screws on? It may not be screwed on completely.

Try the headphones in another device that has a 1/4" headphone jack and see if the Senns get loud enough.

If it is the adapter you'll need to buy a replacement. Which should be expensive (a few bucks). I've had adapters go bad. It happens.

3. Trashman

Trashman Forum Resident