Top tips for buying a used tube amp?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Shiver, May 7, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shiver

Shiver Forum Resident Thread Starter

Related to another recent thread…

Being an absolute novice when it comes to tube amps, and about to start looking around on the second-hand market for options, I’m wondering if there are any tops tips on what to look out for please.

Things that have crossed my (possibly over-thinking!) mind include:

- Servicing: how often should tube amps on the whole be serviced? Is it sensible to avoid ones that haven’t been serviced in x years? – and would one that hasn’t been be underperforming, even if it sounds ok? Or should they just be taken at face value (sound), irrespective?
    - Tube rolling: are there any common mistakes people might make on swapping tubes? Some ads say uprated tubes, but without giving detail. Anything to be wary of there? Rules of thumb for mismatches that show someone hasn’t understood the product etc
    - How would you know tubes are old and need replacing?
    - Any general warning signs to look out for on the condition of an amp? Alarm-bell-ringers.

Any advice much appreciated.

Thanks.
    Rob

2. robertk

robertk Forum Resident

RE: tube rolling

This is where I think the savings can be had. Most folks roll in tubes that are mediocre at best and usually fall into the poor category. Tubes can get real pricey and you can get a feel for what they spent and what they could have potentially spent. If someone has recently re-tubed it, see if they had someone else bias the tubes. It probably would have been looked at for associated problems or trouble spots. And ask if they'll keep what they bought and you will re-tube it yourself. Then, do homework on what would work with the amp/type of music you listen to/other equipment in the loop.