Tube Phono Stage + Solid State Integrated Amp?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Madlove, Mar 24, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Madlove

Madlove Hare Hunter Field Thread Starter

Anyone running this setup? What type gear? Thoughts? Using this configuration, is there much of a sound difference from just running all solid state?

2. tubbyslion

tubbyslion Forum Resident

Yes. A C22 pre and, a current stopgap, Sumo 'The Nine" amp. There's plenty of magic going on. It's definitely a winning combo. The pre amp pours velvety goodness into the amp to drive. It's my first time back to a tube/ss combo in awhile. Totally has its virtues.

SandAndGlass and Madlove like this.
  3. E.Baba

E.Baba Forum Resident

Yeah got tube phono going into an Integrated in one rig and the other rig has tube phono going into pre and then power amp.

As above. Starts with the tube sound and the SS just makes it bigger.

Was asking about this in a proper stereo store the other day and the word was this is the way to do it since the good gear is at the start of the chain. I asked about adding more tubes downstream and that seamed to be a "suck it and see" situation.

For the 'Drama vs Outcome' equation I'm sticking with this.

Madlove likes this.
  4. attym

attym Forum Resident

I use a Decware ZP3 with a Mcintosh C29 and MC2105 (not integrated, but all Solid State).

I think its a great combo and they really compliment each other.

Cardanken, Dennis0675 and Madlove like this.
  5. tubesandvinyl

tubesandvinyl Forum Resident

Yes. Tube phono and amp. Custom made both myself, from scratch. No pcbs. Not a kit. All point to point.

Yes, huge sound difference from running all solid state.

Madlove likes this.
  6. Madlove