Using a 12v 'trigger' cable to turn gear on/off?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by ls35a, Nov 19, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ls35a

ls35a Forum Resident Thread Starter

Anyone doing this? I've been buying gear for 40 years and have never even considered such a thing.

But I'm reading the manual on my PS Audio BHK Signature preamp and it says it has a 12v trigger output. And my Benchmark AHB2 has a 12v trigger input.

So... hook up a cable and when I turn on preamp on/off it turns on/off the power amp? Is that how this works?

Any thoughts on doing this? Seems it would be a minor but nice convenience. I could put the power amp away in my cabinet somewhere.

2. Standingstones

Standingstones Forum Resident

I have my amp and preamp hooked up this way. It’s the best way to go.

3. thxdave

thxdave "One black, one white, one blonde"

Yep, powering up a small power amp via 12v trigger wire from my Marantz AV receiver.

4. Dubmart

Dubmart Senior Member

My Brystons do it, if your amps can then why not.

5. Jimi Floyd

Jimi Floyd Forum Resident

Incredible what technology can do these days, isn't it?

bever70 and PhilBiker like this.
  6. pdxway

pdxway Forum Resident

It is nice. My AVR controls my amps on and off and I like it.

chili555 and PhilBiker like this.
  7. PMCH

PMCH Member

I do this whenever possible. I find that when switching between brands that it doesn't always work. For example when I wanted to turn on my Arcam HT amp the trigger from my McIntosh prepro won't work. I needed to purchase a separate McIntosh power strip with a McIntosh trigger switch to make it work.

PhilBiker likes this.
  8. BayouTiger

BayouTiger Forum Resident

I’m looking at making a 12v relay for my amp that doesn’t have a trigger input. Should be a standard feature.

9. ls35a

ls35a Forum Resident Thread Starter