Vintage and New Stuff

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Budgie, Aug 20, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Budgie

Budgie New Member Thread Starter

Hi, I'm a rookie from the UK and a lot of what you guys are talking about on here goes right over my head. However, perhaps you can help me with something a bit more basic.
    Last year I had the romantic notion of putting together a budget vintage hifi system, a simple turntable, amp and speakers setup to play some old albums on. You guys probably all started the same way, but I'm hoping it won't get out of hand in my case! Anyway, I got a Sansui SR-212, a Sansui AU-101 and a pair of Wharfedale Super Diamond speakers, I did say budget.
    I was happy for a while, until a mate talked me into updating my speakers with something a little more punchy. I settled on a set of Kef IQ5se's, largely on the positive reviews but, I'm not going to lie, partly because they were aesthetically pleasing on my wife's eye!
    They had the desired affect with regard to punchieness, but only to a certain point on the volumes knob. When I turn them up much more than halfway, the sound becomes distorted and apparently that ain't good for the speakers.
    Am I right in assuming that the Sansui's 15 W per channel aren't powerful enough to drive the Kef's 120 W of output?
    Cheers in advance, although that may be a little presumptuous.

matteos likes this.
  2. Thorensman

Thorensman Forum Resident

No. Iwould say that the tweeter was
    Not your cup of tea.
    I experienced a similiar experience
    With Kef.
    You could try them in a different system ( your friends?) And see how they fare.
    It may be that you prefer the tonal footprint of say 80's speakers to todays.
    You would not be alone in that situation
    The diamonds are quite a refined speaker
    At their price level. Treble extension is smooth. Bass is fine
    Moving them about away from boundaries will sharpen the bottom
    End.