What is the main purpose of DVD-Audio format?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by DEG, May 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DEG

DEG Sparks ^^^ Thread Starter

I only run 2 channel. Do these types of discs support that or they really for surround systems?

Thanks.

David

2. Myke

Myke Trying Not To Spook The Horse

High Resolution first and foremost, in my understanding.

3. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Some DVD-A discs have a hi-res 2-channel track but not all of them. If you have a DVD-A compatible player and the discs you are interested in have a 2-channel option, then you may want to explore DVD-A.

4. Spek

Spek Well-Known Member

I believe the question should be phrased, "What was the main purpose of DVD-Audio format?" ;)

thxphotog, Pinknik, rxcory and 5 others like this.
  5. KT88

KT88 Senior Member

DVD-A is a flop IMO. You can get DVD video which includes the DVD-A in both stereo and surround sound, so the audio only discs seem pointless to me. I am not sure if all DVD video players can play a DVD-A disc, but I believe that they can. If not, it is completely worthless IMO.

In the day that there was only 16/44, the idea of a 24/96 audio format promised higher resolution and greater dynamic range. It delivered, however the trouble was not the limits of 16/44 but the limited development and implementation of the 16/44 (redbook CD) players and the proper recording and mastering of the software. Now, many very high performance CD players are out that can deliver better sound, again IMO, than the 24/96 format. These CD players, although only spinning a 16/44 recording, manage to squeeze out of that a more realistic sounding signal (yet again IMO) by utilizing new 24/192 DACs and excellent analog output stages and power supplies.