Would a phono preamp make a difference?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by thomasfaller, Sep 23, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. thomasfaller

thomasfaller New Member Thread Starter

Hey guys,

Have been reading the forum a lot before finally jumping into the vinyl world.
    As a complete novice in this, I was offered a Audio Technica LP60 with Samson Mediaone BT4.

I'm quite satisfied with this all setup but I find the sound to be a little muffled or damped, not really expanding much and it's also slightly too "bassy" like if an EQ was set on "Increased Bass" or something.

I'm not really an audiophile but I've worked in a concert hall / opera and I think I can recognize great/outstanding music from just good. :)

My question is, I know my TT has a built-in preamp and I have quite a limited budget so would a phono preamp between the tt and the speakers would actually improve the sound?

I heard about the ART DJ PREII for example, would that be an interesting addition to my current setup?

I was also considering a cork mat, but that might not make much sense on a basic tt like mine...

Thanks for your advice :)

2. TarnishedEars

TarnishedEars Forum Resident

If your turntable has a built-in preamp, then you probably can't use a normal phono preamp with it.

And the unfortunate truth is that without spending a bit of money, you are probably going to be better off sticking with digital until you can afford a decent rig to play your vinyl. A TT doesn't have to be extremely expensive to sound nice. But those all in one TTs are not the ticket to good sound.

And yes, given a decent TT, a good phono preamp can often make a noticeable improvement to your sound.

3. thomasfaller

Thanks for your feedback TarnishedEars.

Actually, I have a switch on the back of the TT with (phono/line) so I can in theory bypass the built-in preamp.

I just wonder if there would be a noticeable difference if I was to use a preamp instead of the built-in one.