Your help requested. What are your jazz albums suggestions ?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by dennis the menace, Feb 7, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dennis the menace

dennis the menace Forum Veteran Thread Starter

I'm fairly new to this forum and I'm a 54 years old music lover. I love rock music above all and have been deep into prog rock this past year, rediscovering Gentle Giant and King Crimson in particular. My love of rock kind of kept me away from other genres, so I'm still kind of new to jazz. I've got all the classics, thanks to a good friend that helps me, but I would like to go beyond that. Apart from the usual jazz classics, I would really appreciate your help guiding me toward unknown pleasures.

Your suggestions please. If you can also give me the best sounding available version, that would be a plus. Thank you.

2. Monosterio

Monosterio Forum Resident

Maybe you could start by telling us all the classics you already have? That would save us the trouble of suggesting titles you already have.

3. dennis the menace

dennis the menace Forum Veteran Thread Starter

Miles Davis: Birth of cool, Kind of blue, Bitches brew
    John Coltrane: A love supreme , Blue train
    All the jazz best selling albums (Brubeck, Adderley, Rollins) + some fusion albums like all Mahavishnu and Return to forever and Heavy weather by Weather report.

4. Synthfreek

Synthfreek I’m a ray of sunshine & bastion of positivity

Miles Davis - In A Silent Way
    Grant Green - Idle Moments
    Kenny Burrell - Midnight Blue
    Sonny Rollins - Saxophone Colossus
    Sonny Rollins - Way Out West
    Oliver Nelson - Blues And The Abstract Truth

5. southamorican

southamorican Forum Resident

6. detroit muscle

detroit muscle MIA

Check out some Pat Metheny Group records - the ECM ones are a good place to start.

MKHopkins, ggergm and lightbulb like this.
  7. pbuzby

pbuzby Senior Member