Zu Omen Dirty Weekend setup

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by banjobiotic, Jul 9, 2020.

1. banjobiotic

banjobiotic New Member Thread Starter

Hello. I've been reading a ton of threads on the forum for awhile now and this is my first time posting.

I am a lifelong musician and have always listened to music on run of the mill inexpensive audio gear such as relatively cheap headphones and studio monitors. I have a dedicated outbuilding from my house that is 15'x11' with 8 1/2' ceilings, hardwood floors, two large windows opposite each other in the middle of the short walls. I've been using this building as a home office, acoustic jam space, practice space and light exercise room (think yoga, calisthenics etc. nothing requiring a lot of equipment)

I decided this past winter that I wanted to spend a little money investing in some higher end audio gear and get into some really active listening. After doing a lot of research I ended up with the following equipment. Zu Omen DW speakers, Rogue Sphinx V3 integrated amp, Fluance RT 85 turntable with Ortofon 2m Blue stylus, Schiit MODI 3 DAC, and ZU libtec speaker cables.

I finally got everything up and running a couple weeks ago and while there have been moments of extreme joy and amazement at hearing certain albums and songs in a totally new way I am also struggling with some things. On a lot of recordings I'm having trouble hearing clarity in the bass. I can hear the speakers generating bass but the individual notes of the bass lines are difficult to pick out. I regularly listen to a stereo paired set of SONOS speakers in my kitchen while cooking and can easily make out the bass lines in songs I've been struggling to hear them on with my new setup.