Advice needed for online needle drop storage

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Chris Desjardin, Jun 19, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chris Desjardin

Chris Desjardin Senior Member Thread Starter

I have lots and lots of needle drops I have done. They represent the main way I listen to my collection, and they also represent thousands of hours of work. I have a number of hard drives to store them all - RAID drives, SSD's, etc. However, my fear is that I will have a drive failure and lose everything on it. I am dealing with a RAID setup now that appears to be dying.

I'm not a network expert, and I am not wealthy enough to pay a small fortune in initial costs.

I looked at online storage as an option, as I assume they are backed up off-site in case of failure in one location (is this true?). I probably need 3-4TB, although I'll need more and more as I do more 'dropping. Something like a DropBox account...

I need to be sure of 2 things in my selection:

1. I need a company that will be in business for years. I don't want my vendor to close it's doors suddenly because I'll lose everything.

2. I need to be sure they won't remove my files because they are "copywrited material". I am not looking to file share from here - just need a safe place to store my files.

The ability to access these files from anywhere is appealing to me, but not a requirement.

Any suggestions?

2. mr.datsun

mr.datsun Incompletist

Backblaze $60 a year unlimited. They provide the backup software

Or just get a 12TB (or more) raid, and set it up for RAID1 (mirroring). That way if one drive goes, you have a full copy. And you get 6TB storage.

No one can really guarantee any of the other stuff you are asking for. Of course any large company is going to survive or get bought out. And pretty unlikely they will scan your files.