Amplifier help/questions

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Purplerocks, Feb 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Purplerocks

Purplerocks Forum Resident Thread Starter

If my amp plays loud enough to fill my room and is loud enough to my ears, what is the benefit of having a more powerful amp than what is currently being used? What will more watts give me besides louder sound?
    I've been using a NAD C320 BEE for 4 or 5 years and have always felt it provides great sound, but I kinda have an itch to upgrade and am not sure it's worth it.
    Comments, suggestions? thanks.

2. 6L6X4

6L6X4 New Member

Well, there's more to an amp's sound than just the volume it can play at.

Try some different amps if possible and see if you can detect any changes / improvements they provide.

3. Mr X

Mr X Forum Resident

Ahhh... G.A.S.

You know you will buy something in the end. It is only a question of how long you hold out.

Of course you could be rational...

4. stuwee

stuwee Forum Resident

I see you're a drummer and you have some really nice Paradigm Studio 60's, so you should hear a diff in amps in the bass and probably soundstage depth and with.

Try some tubes for some melt in your chair midrange :love:

Any friends near you that have something you could borrow to play with or, just do what I did, buy something on a whim, I got a Kenwood Basic M1D (130 @8ohms, about 240 @4ohms) high current, dirt cheap around $100 cuz folks see the 'Basic' and think it is, trust me it's not....it's a bass monster with my JBL's.

Attached Files:

5. Either tubes or an outboard DAC. If you want soundstage depth then an outboard DAC is next.

6. stuwee

stuwee Forum Resident

YBNRML? You could arc weld with one of James's babys,, hehe :cheers:....

Wardsweb's SAE site is full of goodies :goodie::goodie:

Sorry to go offtopic, SAE's just get me :evil:

Attached Files:

7. ROLO46

ROLO46 Forum Resident

Headroom, Dear Boy.

8. Jim G.