Beach Boys 'Drive-In'/'Don't Back Down' mono mix screw-up?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by dgsinner, Jun 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dgsinner

dgsinner New Member Thread Starter

Has anyone noticed the problem with 'Drive-In' and 'Don't Back Down' in their mono mixes?
    I just picked up a wonderful mono reissue of this lp and all but those two cuts sound great. I've been listening to the stereo mix of this great lp for so many years that I'd forgotten noticing the problem from the first time I heard the lp in mono.

All the cuts sound clear and balanced in mono, with correct high end, until 'Drive-In', which sounds muffled like the master tape has been damaged or is being played on a worn tape head or it's out of alignment or something. Ditto for 'Don't Back Down' until I'm guessing 30 seconds or so before the end of the song when the high end pops back and the sound quality returns to par with the previous tracks.

These problems don't show up in the stereo mix, but every mono I've ever heard -- from first press to reissue -- has the same problem. It's really a shame as those are two classic tracks. Especially 'Don't Back Down'-- one of my all time favorite songs and with several seconds more of Brian's beautiful ending falsetto than on the stereo mix.

What could the problem be? I wonder why it was never fixed?

Dale

2. Mal

Mal Phorum Physicist

Dale,

That's very interesting....I always assumed that it was just a problem with the UK pressings. I was going to get the US pressing but now I'll wait to see if anyone reports that it has the same problem!

Where were the mono LPs you've heard the problem on pressed?

Malc

:)

3. Steve Hoffman

Steve Hoffman Your host Your Host