Dark Side Of The Moon on CD: a blind listening test

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by grandegi, Oct 3, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. grandegi

grandegi Blind test maniac Thread Starter

Hello there,
    a frequent question on this board is which version of a particular album sounds the best.
    I admit I'm obsessed with Dark Side Of The Moon, it seems I have different tastes and favourite mastering in different periods.
    I'm an engineer and I enjoy the visual approach of frequency graphs, but the actual listening experience is what's really worth, in my opinion.
    I'm also a psychologist and I think there could be a response bias by people who spent a lot of money on a Black Triangle or UDCD pressing and would encounter a cognitive dissonance if they found out it was not worth the money (I don't mean it's necessarily so, mind you).

So, if you're in the mood for a blind listening test, here you have six 1-minute excerpts of Money, from different CD masterings (A, B, C, D, E, F), in FLAC format. The tracks have been level adjusted in order to sound approximately at the same volume.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/wd4dk98pbbzsbej/AAD1A2Dn_ruwhvKbnlKNm1EWa?dl=0

It would be great if you could listen and compare the samples, reporting which one sounds the best on your equipment and why, elaborating on what you hear. I'll reveal the sources at the end of the test.

I would consider extending the test to other songs from the same album (new poll), if it turns out there's interest in it.

Any suggestions are appreciated.
    Look forward for your feedback.
    G.

Stephen J, alchemy, sassi and 3 others like this.
  2. HGN2001

HGN2001 Mystery picture member

Not exactly a "golden ear" but I think my preference is for "C". It seems to me to have the crispest highs, and I tend to like crispy highs.

3. ricks

ricks Senior Member