Forever Changes or Marquee Moon?

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by rockerreds, Jan 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rockerreds

rockerreds Senior Member Thread Starter

Which do you prefer:Forever Changes or Marquee Moon?One from 1967,one from 1977,both from Electra.

2. dkmonroe

dkmonroe A completely self-taught idiot

Aw, don't make me cry! :laugh:

Marquee Moon is an album I actually just discovered a couple of years ago (I had no taste for post-punk in the post-punk era) and to me, it's the Lost Classic 70's Rock Album. It's literally been years since I discovered an album that's impressed me so deeply.

However, Forever Changes has been soaking in my psyche since 1981, and it's an enduring object of fascination to me. MM is poised to be as well, but FC is essential to me on so many levels. It genuinely speaks to me. I have to give it my vote.

Mark E. Moon likes this.
  3. veloso2

veloso2 Forum Resident

what is the common point between these two records???
    both on elekra, both great, but???

4. dkmonroe

There isn't too much commonality - same label, exactly ten years apart, similar cult status, but polls is polls. This is far from the most nonsensical one I've ever seen.

5. tuttle

tuttle Forum Resident

I don't understand why anyone would compare these two records to decide which is "better". They're from two different decades, different bands, totally different styles, etc. This seems like just a totally random poll with no point.

joeislive likes this.
  6. ralphb

ralphb "First they came for..."

I agree with you, they couldn't be more stylistically disparate.
    Wait, Bryan Maclean and Richard Lloyd were both really cute guitar players.

mooseman likes this.
  7. Thrillsville

Thrillsville Forum Resident

Marquee Moon by a mile. I've tried numerous times to get into Forever Changes and just cannot.

JimC likes this.
  8. dkmonroe

And this is the first random, pointless poll you've seen? :laugh:

9. Maggie