Great Live Performers Who Have No Outstanding Live Album

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Umbari, Oct 18, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Umbari

Umbari Strange Member Thread Starter

It can be a band or a solo artist.

Eric Clapton comes to mind, by the way. As much as I love him as a musician, I don't think he has any outstanding live album. That includes Cream!

Derek and the Dominos' In Concert sounds pretty cool, but not cool enough to be put in the same sentence with Allman Brothers Band's At Fillmore East or Grateful Dead's Live/Dead, to name a few.

Last edited: Oct 18, 2021
    BrentB, Nike and mattright like this.
  2. crustycurmudgeon

crustycurmudgeon We've all got our faults, mine's the Calaveras

I keep hearing how great Buffalo Springfield were live, but unfortunately no good recording seems to exist (of the original 60s version).

3. mike sullivan

mike sullivan Blues Boy

I don't think The Police did a live album, but would they ever have been considered as 'Great Live Performers?'.. I never saw them.

4. mark winstanley

mark winstanley Certified dinosaur, who likes physical product

With Clapton, personally I think Just One Night is a fantastic live album.... for me it is probably the peak of his solo career.

savemenow, Bill Mac, TonyACT and 17 others like this.
  5. mike sullivan

mike sullivan Blues Boy

AFAIK , Gerry Rafferty never had a live album, was he great live? anyone ever see him in concert?

longdist01 and phillyal1 like this.
  6. mark winstanley

I never saw Black Sabbath live, but they were considered a great live band by many.
    The original line up of the band never had a proper live album, with Live At Last being essentially a decent quality bootleg of sorts.

BrentB, Rufus rag, wrat and 4 others like this.
  7. Kim Olesen

Kim Olesen Gently weeping guitarist.

The original lineup reunited and tecorded a live album called Reunion. It’s good.