I’m new to HiFi and vinyl. Which should I upgrade first?

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Braxton634, Oct 17, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Braxton634

Braxton634 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

So I’m newish to vinyl and have been collecting for about a year. I have started to become tired of the way my system sounds though. I want to start slowly upgrading my system, but I have no idea what is the most necessary to upgrade. I’m hoping somebody can tell me which piece of hardware is in the most need of an upgrade. Also keep in mind that my system is a budget system. I plan to upgrade everything at some point. I just don’t know where to start.

My System:
    -Kenwood KD-2070 vintage turntable
    -Audio Technica AT3600L Cartdridge with matching stylus
    -JVC RX-505V stereo receiver with built in phono preamp
    -I am using some tower speakers from a karaoke system. Yes, I know they are really cheap, but they are better than nothing. Serial number is STVD-1001

Any advice for what I should upgrade first would be greatly appreciated. I’m assuming either the cartridge or speakers, because those seem to be that cheapest things in my system. I am also pretty happy with the turntable I have now and doubt that it should be the first thing upgraded. Lastly, I also have an external preamp that I got on Amazon for around 15$. Is it worth using the stereo’s built in preamp, or should I use the external one alongside the receiver?

2. Pastafarian

Pastafarian Forum Resident

I think it's always useful to know where your end point is likely to be in terms of cost for your system, as recommendations for a better component may be OTT if you're determined not to go down the rabbit hole.

Personally I went through a number of upgrades before going 'daft', it would have made more sense to save up and jump in at a higher level for all my components, a system that's not going to cause another itch.

CrazyCatz likes this.
  3. Warren Jarrett