Just bought The Complete Elvis Presley Masters on eBay!

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by DollyFan1990, Jan 30, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DollyFan1990

DollyFan1990 Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hi!

I just bought The Complete Elvis Presley Masters on eBay for a whopping $1,225! It's from the numbered first pressing. PayPal credit was running a special of a 24 month payment plan at only $58 a month for 24 months and only 12% interest.

I've been eyeing this set for 9 years and finally pulled the trigger. I have The RCA Album Collection that came out in 2016. I thought that would satisfy me, but I found myself still dreaming about The Complete Masters set.

For anyone who has The Complete Masters set, what's your opinion on it?

2. SKATTERBRANE

SKATTERBRANE Forum Resident

It is great. Save for a few problems here and there (does not include take 1 the single version of It's A Long Lonely Highway, and neither is the album version take 10 of A Little Less Conversation, so much for "complete").

You will find just about all the material from the Albums set For LP Fans Only and A Date With Elvis is MUCH better on The Complete Masters.

Price.pittsburgh likes this.
  3. SKATTERBRANE

_The version of "A Little Less Conversation" relased in 1970 on the Almost in Love Camden LP is not included. (In addition to the single master, the Complete Masters set includes the June 1968 version recorded for the NBC-TV Special.)
    _Take 2 of "I Love You Because," which was released on Volume 1 of A Legendary Performer in 1974 is not included. (The master was a splice of takes 3 and 5.)
    _Take 15 of "I Want You, I Need You, I Love You," which was included on Volume 2 of A Legendary Performer in 1976 is not included. (The master was a splice of takes 14 and 17.)
    _The version of "Long, Lonely Highway" (2:57) first released on a single is not included. (The album master runs for 2:23 and is included.)