Laptop to integrated amp DAC

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by PaulG4599, Jan 15, 2022.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. PaulG4599

PaulG4599 Forum Resident Thread Starter

Quick question as I’m new to trying to make digital audio sound better than what comes out of the box. I have a Rotel RA-12 integrated amp that has a pretty solid built in DAC from what I’ve read, and I want to utilize it.

It’s in my office connected to my laptop, and I’m just using a standard 3.5mm out of laptop to RCA analog into the CD port on the amp. From what I understand because I’m going into analog RCA on the amp, it’s not using the DAC.

The amp has two digital coax and two optical digital ports. So from what I understand I have to go into those to use the onboard DAC.

My question simply is, if I use a 3.5mm out of the laptop, to digital coax OR optical right to the amp, isn’t that using the laptop DAC first? Is that not ideal? Because 3.5mm is analog right out of the laptop.

Do I need to use USB or HDMI out of laptop so it’s all digital until it hits the amp DAC?

If yes is there such cable? Thanks in advance!!!

BruceS likes this.
  2. Kyhl

Kyhl On break

DAC means digital to analog converter. If the sound is going analog along a wire then a conversion happened upstream.

You will need another box to make this work. Either another external DAC or a DDC (digital to digital converter) to get the outputs and inputs to match.

PaulG4599 likes this.
  3. PaulG4599

I think I follow. Hdmi or usb out of laptop> external DDC>convert to digital coax or optical>into amp digital inputs>this then uses the amp DAC. Correct?

woody, Kyhl and guestuser like this.
  4. guestuser

guestuser Chillin

Yep, that’s about right. You will also need two cables: one to connect the laptop to DDC and another one to connect the DDC to the amp.

PaulG4599 likes this.
  5. PaulG4599

Yup. So this keeps it all digital until it gets to the amp DAC. Thank you both! I’ll give it a shot!