LP Listening Suggestions

Discussion in 'Music Corner' started by Klapamos, Jan 20, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Klapamos

Klapamos Well-Known Member Thread Starter

Hey all,

So I'm somewhat new to LP records, which has renewed my audiophile interests from high school and college. With a little help from this forum I have built a nice system including a Rega Player 1, marantz pm5004 amplifier, Klipsch 820F, and older 5 disc Yamaha CD player.

I have always been a fan of mostly 80's and 90's music, I was born in 81, but recently have been enjoying 70s music like Billy Joel, Elton John, Queen, David Bowie, suprisingly I liked Willie Nelson's stardust album (picked up at goodwill). I'm also way into Lionel Richie's first 3 albums, but not so much the commodores. Other than that I listen to mostly rock.

Any suggestions of artists or albums that you'll think may spark my interest would be greatly appreciated!

2. c-eling

c-eling Dinner's In The Microwave Sweety

The old US
    Peter Schilling-Things To Come, 1985

Neonbeam and Klapamos like this.
  3. c-eling

Dime a dozen cut out bin galore
    A-ha-Scoundrel Days, 1986
    Grab the old US, the re-issue kinda sucks

Neonbeam and Klapamos like this.
  4. uncarvedbloke

uncarvedbloke Forum Resident

Burn your record collection and listen to the Sex Pistols...

AlienRendel and c-eling like this.
  5. c-eling

:laugh:
    Speaking of-
    P.I.L. sounds excellent on the format, especially Happy and 9 (US)

6. vinylontubes

vinylontubes Forum Resident

You really need to give more of a direction than a few '70s and early '80s acts and a standards cover album by a country artist if you want something more specific. But I'll throw out a few suggestion to see what sticks to the wall.

Squeeze - East Side Story. It's from 1981. It's a classic. It has the great single "Tempted" but the rest of the album flows beautifully and the all the songs are good.