Need acoustic guitar suggestions for beginner

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by bayen, Sep 10, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bayen

bayen Forum Resident Thread Starter

Hello all. Hope this is in the correct forum. My 14 year old son started banging on an old had-me down cheap acoustic this summer and can play almost any song he decides to learn...watching youtube videos. I've been playing for over 40 years and know what to look for when purchasing vintage...I own a 1953 Gibson southern jumbo and a 1960 Les Paul special...but have absolutely no idea what to look for regarding inexpensive new/slightly used acoustics. The last time I owned a new guitar was 1979...purchased my first nice acoustic...a Sigma dreadnought. I looked around the web for a used Sigma...not so cheap anymore...but could use some suggestions. I'm willing to spend as much as $500 if necessary. Prefer used, guitar doesn't need to be cosmetically perfect...just easy to play with a nice tone. THANKS!!

2. bayen

Thanks for looking...decided to ask gort to close thread...too general...lot's of options. I'll be more specific when I narrow search...thanks.

3. Sire acoustics appear to be a lot of bang for your buck.
    Andertons have featured them in Youtube videos.

4. Yamahas. Even the entry-level 700-800 models. For that matter, even the JR1 student model plays real well, and is real well made. I think it's a 7/8 scale. They're just plain best buys. Tons of them around, too. I like single cutaway models. I like the option of having a pickup, too. Not difficult at all to find an A/E 700 single cutaway or an APX500 for $200=$250 on the used market, in excellent running condition.