New To Vinyl

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by Paul Guerrero, Jul 11, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Paul Guerrero

Paul Guerrero Well-Known Member Thread Starter

Hello everyone,

I am new to collecting vinyl and have been reading your forum voraciously searching for the best pressings to purchase.

About a month ago I picked up a copy of ‘Is This It?’by The Strokes (original cover) on vinyl as a birthday present for my wife. Years ago, I had lost her CD version of the album and thought it would be a nice surprise for her.

Almost as an afterthought, I realized I should probably get a record player too! And speakers! I did some research for beginners and settled on an Audio-Technica AT-LP60x-BK paired with Edifier 1280DB speakers.

So far, I’m satisfied. However, I can’t help but feel I can do better. I want to get the best sound I can from my vinyl.

Where can I go from here? What’s the next step (or two) up for me? I would appreciate any help the forum can offer.

Here’s a list of vinyl I have purchased:

Jimi Hendrix - Electric Ladyland and Axis Bold as Love (2010 - Sony Legacy)

Love - Forever Changes (50th Anniversary LP)

The Beach Boys - Pet Sounds (2015 Stereo - Analogue Productions)

Tropicalia: A Brazilian Revolution in Sound (2005 - Soul Jazz)

Simon & Garfunkel - Bridge Over Troubled Water (1999 - Classic Records)

Pink Floyd - Dark Side of the Moon (2016 - Pink Floyd Records)

Wilco - Yankee Hotel Foxtrot (2008 - Nonesuch)

And of course the aforementioned Stokes - Is This It?

Thank you so much!

2. bloodlemons

bloodlemons Forum Resident

First: Welcome!

Second: You picked some nice pressings right out of the gate. So much so that, in my opinion, your turntable is incapable of reproducing the nuances waiting for you in the grooves.