New Turntable Suggestions - Vinyl Beginner

Discussion in 'Audio Hardware' started by TDLP, Oct 13, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TDLP

TDLP Active Member Thread Starter

I’m relatively new to collecting vinyl. I currently have an Audio-Technia LP120-USB that I’ve been using for about two years, and I would like to upgrade it. I find the sound has a veil over it.

I upgraded my old speaker set up recently to try to help with the problem, and it improved the sound, but I still think it could be better. I’m now using a Sony STR-DH190 receiver that has a phono input and two Sony SS-CSR bookshelf speakers.

I’ve read about removing the built-in preamp, but I’m not really electronically savvy that way... plus, I think the attached USB cables have some kind of short in them. Sometimes, sound doesn’t play from the left speaker, and if I switch the red and white cables, it doesn’t play out of the right speaker instead. Then it will turn on and work for a while, but it’s giving me problems. Anyway, I think at this point, I would just like a new turntable.

I’ve been looking at Pro-Ject Debut Carbons, Rega Planar 1s, Orbit U-Turns, and Fluance RT85s.

I have gotten into this Internet rabbit hole of reading reviews and opinions, and I think I’m more confused now that ever.

Do you have any suggestions of something that would work well with my setup? I don’t see myself becoming a super audiophile, but I would like something that sounds nice for now that I could possibly upgrade components later. I’m open to suggestions, and I’d like to spend around $500, but I’m willing to spend more if something is going to be way better sounding.

Thanks!!

2. TDLP